Dietsch is welcomed into the fold

Township of Langley, BC, Thursday, April 12th, 2012- The Langley Rivermen Junior “A” Hockey Club is pleased to announce the commitment of forward Luke Dietsch (1994) to the team for next season. Luke hails from St.Paul,Minnesota and played for the Cretin-Durham Hall high school program where he was the captain. Luke had a fantastic season recording 20 goals and 15 assists in 25 games played. He also played for Team Section 3 in the Ted Brill Great 8 Tournament which is designed to showcase the state’s top seniors and scored the game winning goal in overtime to win the championship.

 

“I am extremely excited to come to Langley next season, I never really thought I would be playing up there, but after coach Henderson talked to me it just seemed like the right fit and could not turn it down”, said Dietsch on his lunch break in Minnesota.

 

Luke is a big 6’3”, 200 pound winger and is a guy that head coach Bobby Henderson felt flew under the radar,

 

“Luke has good size and a very good skill set for a big man and we feel he could have the potential of fitting in to our top six forward group”, said the new head coach.

 

Dietsch was thrilled with everything he heard about the team, which in the end made his decision an easy one,

 

“My goal was to always play junior hockey and after this opportunity came up I thought why not take it right away, I mean the BCHL is a great league and from what I hear the city of Langley loves hockey, which will make it a great place to play”.

 

The Minnesota native will do whatever is asked of him by the coaches, but he describes himself as a goal scorer,

 

“I am an offensive guy that likes to put the puck in the back of the net, I feel that I have pretty good vision out there and like to find the open guy whenever I can, but where I like to be the most is around the net”, said Dietsch.

 

Dietsch’s ultimate goal is to obtain a scholarship, but his first order of business is to help the Rivermen become a contender,

 

“I want this team to make the playoffs first and foremost, I saw that they came up short last season and want to be a playoff team for years to come”.

Leave a Reply

