Belmont accepts Rivermen invitation

The Langley Rivermen Junior “A” Club is pleased to announce the commitment of forward Josh Belmont (1994) to the team for next season. Josh is from Woodinville,Washingtonand played for the Chicago Young Americans of the HPHL. In 45 games, Josh recorded 8 goals and 4 assists and is a big forward at 6’2”, 190 pounds.

 

Belmont can hardly wait to arrive in Langley,

 

“I am crazy excited to be honest with you, I feel like it is a great opportunity for me and cannot wait to get it going,” said Belmont.

 

He was recently at the prospects camp and was very impressive throughout the duration,

 

“Josh is a big guy with a good skill set and can really skate,” said Associate Head Coach Jordan Emmerson, “he is a very intelligent hockey player, but also plays with an edge which we really like”.

 

One of the main selling points in coming to Langley was his roots nearby across the border,

 

“I come from the Pacific Northwest in the Seattle region and coming back to the area was a big factor in my decision because I have family close by and the facility there at the Langley Events Centre is crazy nice as well,” said Belmont

 

Describing himself as a player, it is safe to say he is a jack of all trades,

 

“I like to think I am a smart player with a good hockey sense, I am always looking to be in position like getting in the right spot at the right time, and using my size to get there as much as I can, but my favorite thing to do is putting the puck in the back of the net,” Belmont continued.

 

As for expectations, he wants to take it all in first and foremost,

 

“I hope to have an amazing year and just overall enjoy life, I mean it has been stressful trying to balance school and hockey at the same time, so I am hoping for an all around successful year and hopefully bring home a championship,” Belmont finished.

Leave a Reply

