Q & A with Kevan Kilistoff

Kilistoff brings many dimensions to the Rivermen next season

Kilistoff brings many dimensions to the Rivermen next season

Many BCHL fans know the name Kevan Kilistoff. He had a fantastic rookie season as a 17-year-old with the Surrey Eagles winning a championship and even appeared in the national championship tournament in P.E.I. Shortly after the Eagles long playoff run, he was dealt to the Rivermen and now will play next season in his home town of Langley. I caught up with the young forward to get to know him a bit better.

BA:  Now that you have had over a month for the trade to sink in, what are your thoughts on the whole situation?

KK: It was a shock at first, Surrey is a good organization I had a great time and season with them, but I`m happy to be playing for Langley next season and have the opportunity to play for a great organization and for my hometown.

BA: Who on the Rivermen did you have a tough time playing against last year?

KK: That probably would be Mario Puskarich. Last season when I played Langley, the line I was on was usually matched up against him, it was tough to keep him from scoring.

BA: Who are you most excited to play with next year?

KK: I haven’t really thought about that a whole lot yet. I`m excited to play with everyone and see who I will have the best chemistry with.

BA: Who in your family is most excited about you playing in your home town of Langley?

KK:  I think I would have to say my Dad is the most excited. He always enjoys watching me play.

BA: Favourite thing to do in the off-season?

KK: Have some down time to spend with my friends and family.

BA: Which player in the NHL do you try and mold yourself after?

KK: I`ve tried to model my game after Ryan Kesler.

BA: Why did you choose to wear #16 last year?

KK: I wore 16 growing up and playing minor hockey, so its my favourite number to wear.

BA: What was it like playing under former Canuck and now new Eagles Head Coach Peter Schaefer? (does he still have that crazy curve on his stick?)….Picture below

KK:  It was a great experience, he`s got a lot of hockey knowledge and helped me out a lot last year. (And yes he still uses his crazy curve on his stick)

BA: Favourite minor hockey memory growing up in Langley?

KK: Winning the Kamloops tournament In Peewee against Burnaby Winterclub.

BA: You and Mitch McLain fought last year. How do you think that scrap went?

KK: It was ok just trying to stand up for my teammate at the time after a big hit.

BA: Finally Kevan, Which game this year do you have circled on your calendar?

KK: Would have to be playing Surrey In their home opener. 

Shaefers curve

The curve

 

Leave a Reply

