To the Rivermen organization and it’s fans

I write this last blog post to announce that I have taken the Broadcaster/Media Relations Coordinator position with Abbotsford Heat of the AHL. I am very excited for this new opportunity and feel ready for a new challenge in my broadcasting career, but at the same time it is sad that I have to leave a great organization like the Rivermen.

The organization has been first class since day one. The Henderson’s have been around the Hockey scene for decades and it shows by the type of program they have been running for three years now and I still have yet to meet a better Hockey family. Co-owners Roy and John Henderson are very special people and it was a pleasure learning from them in my two seasons with the club and I am very thankful for them giving me an opportunity to stay with the team in Langley. They do a great job of surrounding the franchise with good people like Ross Beebe, Erinn Kredba, Brayden Tonogai, and many more and have continued to add to the Rivermen family, especially this off-season. Taylor and Bobby Henderson have many of their father and uncle’s traits and I enjoyed working closely with them on a daily basis at the rink and consider them good friends. They all share the same goal in mind, which is to move players on to the next level, but at the same time create an atmosphere to become a better person as well. Mission accomplished.

I really believe this years edition of the Rivermen will be a contender for the Fred Page Cup. There are some big names coming back for another year and some highly talented recruits, which will make for some fun Hockey to watch. They will be led by a very strong coaching staff of Bobby, Kurt, and Jon who are three guys determined to win a championship in Langley and the players love playing for them. Speaking of players, it was an honour to know and interact with each and every one of them. I can honestly say there was not one player in the past two seasons I did not like or get along with.

To the fans of the Rivermen you guys are awesome. I always enjoy talking to you about the team whether that is at special events, home games, or on social media. It is amazing to see the support the team has gotten compared to year one in the league and I know by talking to the players they enjoy playing in front of you every night. Keep it up and I hope to see Rivermen nation continue to grow.

I also have to thank the people at the Langley Events Centre. Jared Harman, the Director of Business Development, was the first guy to believe in me as he hired me to do the play-by-play for the Langley Chiefs five years ago when I was fresh out of school. Without that opportunity, who knows where I would be. I also cannot forget Tyler Dinwoodie who is the great production person at the rink as he did a great job of making me look good whenever I was on camera. In my opinion it is the best rink in the league and I was happy to call it home for four years.

To the volunteers, without you the team would not run as smoothly as it does. Your continued hard work does not go unnoticed and I always had a blast coming into the volunteer room before games and shooting the breeze with you all. I got a chance to visit every rink in the BCHL and I truly believe the Rivermen have the best group of volunteers. Same goes for the billets in the organization. You are all a great bunch of people who are doing what you do for the right reasons.

To everyone that helped me out on the broadcasts(Mike, Nick, Taylor, and Coach Vic) thank you for all of your hard work and I owe you guys big time.

Once again, thank you everybody for your support and I will be forever blessed that I had the opportunity to work for this great organization. See you around the rink.

For the last time, Good night & Good Hockey,

Brandon Astle

2 thoughts on “To the Rivermen organization and it’s fans

  1. Brendan,
    Thank you for a great year of fabulous announcing and blog updates you will be missed by us all tremendously……GoodLuck in your new adventure….
    Kathy Mulcahy Matt Ustaski’s Aunt -resident of Illinois suburb Home of the Stanley Cup Blackhawks 2013 yaaaaaaaaaa

Leave a Reply

